Author Topic: Need help cutting to a 60%  (Read 1186 times)

Offline marcusant

Need help cutting to a 60%
« on: Sun, 20 April 2014, 22:54:03 »
I'm extremely new to the world of electrical stuff and honestly have no idea what I'm doing.

The main thing that I am wondering is how I could cut a large keyboard to 60% and maintain functionality. How could I keep the PCB functional when cutting half of it off?

Can anyone lead me in the right direction to getting a better understanding with this sort of thing?

Offline Pacifist

• Report me *again* if there are gifs in my sig
  • * Elevated Elder
  • on hiatus
Re: Need help cutting to a 60%
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 20 April 2014, 22:57:20 »
that would be almost impossible. It would mainly depend on the PCB but most boards have the PCB wired in a way that it would be easier to just get a new 60%

Offline Melvang

• Exquisite Lord of Bumfluff
  • * Maker
  • Melvang's Desktop Customs
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 20 April 2014, 22:59:24 »
I'm extremely new to the world of electrical stuff and honestly have no idea what I'm doing.

The main thing that I am wondering is how I could cut a large keyboard to 60% and maintain functionality. How could I keep the PCB functional when cutting half of it off?

Can anyone lead me in the right direction to getting a better understanding with this sort of thing?

I doubt very much that this would be feasible.  However, in theory this would be possible.

What you would have to do is follow the traces and then solder jumper wires to reconnect the traces after you cut the PCB up.  However, if you are cutting it up that much and the keyboard doesn't have a separate daughter board, you will have to reconnect the traces back to that and then keep that section of board in the case as well.