Author Topic: Is it weird to bring my own keyboard to a new job?  (Read 72949 times)

Offline dadgh

Is it weird to bring my own keyboard to a new job?
« on: Wed, 01 May 2013, 19:20:02 »
I recently acquired an internship in the IS field at a large private corporation and am currently using this garbage keyboard:
More

Since I'm just an intern I'm still going through training and not really contributing much so I don't feel like I'm a real part of "the team" yet. Would it be weird for me to bring in my own keyboard? No one in my department has brought in their own keyboard, they're all using the corporate assigned Dell L100. I work full time at this corporation.

Offline sth

• 2 girls 1 cuprubber
Re: Is it weird to bring my own keyboard to a new job?
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 01 May 2013, 19:21:00 »
everybody here does

it's weird that you even have special keyboards... don't worry about it.
11:48 -!- SmallFry [~SmallFry@unaffiliated/smallfry] has quit [Ping timeout: 245 seconds] ... rest in peace

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 01 May 2013, 19:21:16 »
Hell no, I brought a Filco MJ2 104 with MX blues and a valentine's set to work. Next week, my friend brought in his BlackWidow. I'm a full time engineer at a major coporation.

Offline cpf

Is it weird to bring my own keyboard to a new job?
« Reply #3 on: Wed, 01 May 2013, 19:21:48 »
I just started a new job. I brought my keyboard on the second day - along with my trackball, regular mouse, and external monitor. Nobody cared.

Offline Sifo

• Illustrious
« Reply #4 on: Wed, 01 May 2013, 19:22:27 »
I bring my boards in all the time ^^
I love Elzy

Offline T0ken

« Reply #5 on: Wed, 01 May 2013, 19:24:30 »
As long as noise isn't an issue then its fine. If anyone asks, you can claim its for health reasons, cheap keyboards literally kill me, do you want me to die!  :p

Offline okooko

• afk.
« Reply #6 on: Wed, 01 May 2013, 19:29:09 »