Author Topic: Custom Mac Key Caps from WASD Keyboards  (Read 65719 times)

Offline cosm2000

Custom Mac Key Caps from WASD Keyboards
« on: Sat, 19 November 2011, 16:33:30 »
7/17/2014 Update: Finally I uploaded all related files (.ai files, KeyRemap4Macbook configuration file, and pictures) to GitHub and now my server's downtime won't affect their availability anymore.

https://github.com/ychw/CustomMacKeycaps

Please "star" the repository if you like. ;-)

=========================================

2/7/2014 Update: I have got many requests for the keyboard design files. You can download them from my blog: http://www.clingmarks.com/custom-mac-mechanical-keyboard-lets-have-some-fun/893. The files are at the bottom of the page.

=========================================

Since I started playing with mechanical keyboards, I always tried to find a Mac compatible one. Sure, most of the keyboards do work on Mac, but I think what I am looking for is more a "mac feeling" keyboard. I tried Matias Tactile Pro 3, but just didn't like the feeling of alps and its ping. So eventually I comprised and bought a DAS keyboard w/ blue switch. I thought if I liked it, I could buy their mac keycap set and turn it to to semi-mac-keyboard -- because their mac key caps only have opt and cmd keys.

Until I found this post from iindigo: http://geekhack.org/showthread.php?23203-Finishing-Touches-for-a-Layout

iindigo is genius. :) He designed this wonderful mac keyboard layout to match exactly the look of the original mac keyboard. All the font, position of each character, are carefully designed so that they look just like the Apple mac keyboard. And he's general enough to share his work.

(iindigo's design: http://geekhack.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=29448&d=1319258366)

So I asked him to send me the layout, and added a little extras based on the layout of current Apple keyboard (http://store.apple.com/us/product/MB110LL/B). The changes to iindigo's edition are: