Author Topic: Netbook keyboard as ergo keyboard?  (Read 6372 times)

Offline erw

Netbook keyboard as ergo keyboard?
« on: Thu, 22 December 2011, 14:04:03 »
Netbooks keyboards are around 90% of full size, and when that fact is mentioned on the intertubes, it is typically accompanied by implicit assumptions that this size is bad.

But I noticed something... My fingers don't hurt when I type on my netbook (Eee 1005P). And they do on most other keyboards except my Kinesis Advantage.
Sure, I have to cramp my hands together (especially considering I use a Kinesis) and the keyboard rattles unpleasantly. But my fingers don't hurt!

Has anyone else experienced this?

Are there any less-than-full-size-key keyboards available that are not embedded into netbooks? (and still big enough to touch type on)
Kinesis Advantage LF (MX Red), Kinesis Advantage (MX Brown), Ergodox (MX Red), Colemak

Offline Lanx

« Reply #1 on: Thu, 22 December 2011, 14:22:28 »
i have a kinesis as a daily driver, i cannot use the netbook when i travel (as a main computer for the day) for more than 1hr b4 i tear up.

Offline treigle

• http://www.neuron0.net
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 26 December 2011, 01:57:25 »
The Cherry ML-4100 keyboard (mechanical, short travel switches) has about 90% key pitch (desktop keyboard generally have 19mm from center to center of keys). It feels decent to type on too, and is available in both PS/2 and USB.

I've also seen a few rubber dome boards with compact keys, a *few* of which are half-decent.....  The old IBM M4 (rubber dome) was supposedly alright, though I never tried one. There's always the uTron board from Japan ($$$).

I think all the compact key boards are flat unfortunately. I prefer fullsize keys with different row profiles.....
Kinesis Advantage, Truly Ergonomic (ANSI), Filco 87

Offline Findecanor

« Reply #3 on: Mon, 26 December 2011, 14:14:34 »
Quote from: treigle;477817
The Cherry ML-4100 keyboard ... It feels decent to type on too ...