Author Topic: numpad on top of your letters.  (Read 911 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline cheappoison

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 10
numpad on top of your letters.
« on: Mon, 16 January 2012, 15:10:27 »
I was thinking of getting a tenkyless, but i do like to keep at least a numpad in some shape or form.

So currently i got a custom layout going where i use alt gr to get a numpad on the right side of my keyboard.


But like this i do have to remove some characters, i don't use those alot but hey i rather still keep em around.
So i was wondering of any of you had an idea how to do this more effectivly?

Offline flyball

  • Posts: 298
numpad on top of your letters.
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 16 January 2012, 15:13:41 »
Quote from: cheappoison;491831
I was thinking of getting a tenkyless, but i do like to keep at least a numpad in some shape or form.

So currently i got a custom layout going where i use alt gr to get a numpad on the right side of my keyboard.
Show Image


But like this i do have to remove some characters, i don't use those alot but hey i rather still keep em around.
So i was wondering of any of you had an idea how to do this more effectivly?

that's what the ducky tenkeyless keyboards do. it's awkward.
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Offline xorxpto

  • Posts: 24
numpad on top of your letters.
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 16 January 2012, 17:47:39 »
Quote from: cheappoison;491831
I was thinking of getting a tenkyless, but i do like to keep at least a numpad in some shape or form.

So currently i got a custom layout going where i use alt gr to get a numpad on the right side of my keyboard.
Show Image


But like this i do have to remove some characters, i don't use those alot but hey i rather still keep em around.
So i was wondering of any of you had an idea how to do this more effectivly?

You could use an AutoHotkey_L script for that.
For example, this script does the remaping you pretend when ScrollLock is pressed:

Code: [Select]
#if GetKeyState("ScrollLock", "T")
0::SendInput, {Raw}/
u::SendInput, {Raw}4
i::SendInput, {Raw}5
o::SendInput, {Raw}6
p::SendInput, {Raw}*
j::SendInput, {Raw}1
k::SendInput, {Raw}2
l::SendInput, {Raw}3
m::SendInput, {Raw}0
`;::SendInput, {Raw}-
/::SendInput, {Raw}+
#if
« Last Edit: Mon, 16 January 2012, 17:49:40 by xorxpto »

Offline cheappoison

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 10
numpad on top of your letters.
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 17 January 2012, 12:38:50 »
So it should also be possible to set up a function key to just do that, right?
Or disable for example the left windows key and use that as a modifier?

Offline cheappoison

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 10
numpad on top of your letters.
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 17 January 2012, 13:09:49 »
I am kinda new to this. I used microsoft keyboard layout creator. But any good link that would provide me with an idea of how to do that?

Offline kps

  • Posts: 607
numpad on top of your letters.
« Reply #5 on: Tue, 17 January 2012, 13:43:48 »
Is there a problem with the way IBM did it?


Offline xorxpto

  • Posts: 24
numpad on top of your letters.
« Reply #6 on: Tue, 17 January 2012, 16:31:21 »
Quote from: cheappoison;492612
So it should also be possible to set up a function key to just do that, right?
Or disable for example the left windows key and use that as a modifier?

To disable Left Win Key and use it as a modifier to do the same thing:
Code: [Select]
Lwin::return
LWin & 0::SendInput, {Raw}/
LWin & u::SendInput, {Raw}4
LWin & i::SendInput, {Raw}5
LWin & o::SendInput, {Raw}6
LWin & p::SendInput, {Raw}*
LWin & j::SendInput, {Raw}1
LWin & k::SendInput, {Raw}2
LWin & l::SendInput, {Raw}3
LWin & m::SendInput, {Raw}0
LWin & `;::SendInput, {Raw}-
LWin & /::SendInput, {Raw}+

To run AutoHotkey scripts, you need to install AutoHotkey
(download here. I recomend the improved AutoHotkey_L version).

As said before, Autohotkey site is the best place to start with.
You can run your scripts directly (double click .ahk file) or compile them into an exe.