Author Topic: Model M Vet -> Cherry Brown  (Read 4619 times)

Offline rknize

• * Administrator
    • metaruss
Model M Vet -> Cherry Brown
« on: Mon, 06 February 2012, 21:29:20 »
Sorry this is so long-winded.  I had posted some of this elsewhere this weekend, but the posts disappeared (along with my account) due to the database rollback.

I've been using Model M and Unicomp keyboards for almost 20 years.  My daily driver at work is a "blue label" that I bought new in 1994 from the newly-opened Best Buy near my home.  I paid $100 for that sucker, but I loved the feel of the old terminal keyboards at college so much that I felt it was worth it.  It has certainly lasted!  I had it at work for a while until co-workers arrived at my cube with pitch forks and torches (or left anonymous notes) complaining about my clickity-clacking.  I switched to a "Microsoft Natural" keyboard and a Trackman there and at home to keep the natives happy and to try to address some wrist pain issues I was having.  I wore two of those keyboards out and eventually realized that switching to a trackball and fixing my posture was what helped my wrists the most.  Eventually I experimented with "grease modding" the Model M and found a method that quiets the board enough to avoid being tarred and feathered while still maintaining most of the keyboard's feel and speed that I love.  At home I have various keyboards, but even a greased Unicomp does not have enough WAF to permit its use in our upstairs office.  So I've been using a Saitek Eclipse II for the past few years.  It was the best feeling rubber dome keyboard I could find in the stores around me and has a backlight feature that is useful sometimes.  I was using some cheapo AT keyboard before that, but it actually felt quite nice.  It had a longer stroke and lighter feel than any other dome keyboard I've tried since.  It wore out after a few years, though.