Author Topic: Need a KVM or something  (Read 1315 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline chel-

  • Thread Starter
  • Posts: 216
  • Location: canada
Need a KVM or something
« on: Tue, 17 April 2012, 15:22:27 »
I need some help finding a kvm or other solution for my multi-pc setup. Right now I have 3 computers, one with two displays and the other two connected via some cheap kvm sharing one display,kb and mouse. Having to constantly switch devices is a pain so Im wondering if there is some way I can use one keyboard and mouse while keeping my current monitor setup. The two pcs sharing devices currently are on the same network while the third isnt... so something like synergy isnt an option.

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 5273
  • Location: NE US
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 17 April 2012, 15:23:26 »
Synergy, or maybe some wonky VNC setup?

And as for the different network deal, I'm pretty sure you can tunnel synergy over ssh.
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline Djuzuh

  • Posts: 1739
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 17 April 2012, 15:25:11 »
you can create a virtual network and use synergy on it if you are motivated.

Online Reptile

  • Posts: 1163
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 17 April 2012, 15:53:16 »
Pretty sure all software related KVM's need to be on the same network. What OS do they all have?
Home:Realforce 87UB 55g
Work:Leopold FC700R Ergo Clears

Online mkawa

  • * Administrator
  • Posts: 6971
  • (ツ)@@@. crankypants
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #4 on: Tue, 17 April 2012, 23:01:50 »
synergy et al work over IP, so they don't need to be on the same network. however, some of them use bonjour like auto-discovery mechanisms that have to be tunneled between networks.

my view of KVMs is that they're antiquities that predate USB and DVI. you should be able to find a really cheap dumb USB switch (in fact i think i have one lying around that i should probably give away), and a dumb dvi switch shouldn't be that hard to find on monoprice either. i'm not entirely sure if someone builds one box that does both that's an appropriate price (i would say 20$ is the magic number).

Offline alaricljs

  • I be WOT'ing all day...
  • ** Moderator Emeritus
  • Posts: 5273
  • Location: NE US
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #5 on: Wed, 18 April 2012, 00:31:19 »
The dumb USB switch I have explicitly ****s itself if you try to use it w/ KB+mouse.  Nice friggin design.
Filco w/ Imsto thick PBT
Ducky 1087XM PCB+Plate, w/ Matias "Quiet Click" spring-swapped w/ XM Greens

Offline TheProfosist

  • Posts: 5754
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • Custom Layouts Only!
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #6 on: Wed, 18 April 2012, 00:41:10 »
I have found both good usb switches and good kvm switches might look into one again if the need arrises

Offline zeDoktor

  • Posts: 27
    • http://www.hexomega.com
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #7 on: Thu, 26 April 2012, 11:12:41 »
mouse without borders works great if they're all windows machines
SteelSeries 6Gv2 / Razer DeathAdder Black  / CM Storm QuickFire Rapid / Logitech G5 BF2142 / Microsoft Sidewinder X4

Offline mushupork

  • Posts: 219
  • Location: Wisconsin, USA
  • I am not knowing
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #8 on: Thu, 26 April 2012, 11:16:28 »
I think I am missing part of the problem ... could you not use one 4 port KVM for all 3 PCs?  As for multi-monitor PC, multi-monitor KVMs are more expensive but since you need that for only one PC, just connect one monitor to one video port on that PC "permanently" and use the KVM to switch the monitor (with keyboard and mouse) that all PCs will share.

I am currently using an IOgear GCS1764 but it has shared USB ports so I bought a USB Video card and now all machines have dual monitors.  The switching sometimes takes a sec to catch up but I don't flip flop ports on the KVM too often so it is acceptable to me.
Wanted:  Windowed capslock for a QFR

Offline suprsmo

  • Posts: 481
  • Sydney, Australia
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #9 on: Thu, 03 May 2012, 00:20:41 »
great app called Synergy that i used to use at work.

http://synergy-foss.org/

works between multiple pcs and cross platforms too!
Poker Poker QFR
QuickFire Rapid
Realforce 86u Black Variable - For sale

Offline Nighted

  • Posts: 458
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #10 on: Thu, 03 May 2012, 00:27:55 »
ShareMouse is great. Windows and Mac only so far.
^ 100% teleprompter free.

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Offline Waterdr1nker

  • Posts: 187
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #11 on: Sun, 10 June 2012, 19:47:47 »
I switch off between Synergy and a hardware USB switch that I got from Monoprice. The USB switch only has 2 ins and outs though, so I'm not sure how that'd work out for you.
[Use] Filco Majestouch Tenkeyless Blue . Filco Majestouch 2 Tenkeyless Blue . KBT Race 75% Red
[Sold] Filco Majestouch NINJA Tenkeyless Brown . Leopold FC200R Tenkeyless Blue

Offline Internetlad

  • Posts: 1274
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #12 on: Mon, 11 June 2012, 18:05:29 »
why don't you just run virtual machines on your main for the second two?
"Beep . . . Beep . . . Beep" -Sputnik I


Visit the Typing Test and try!

Offline xcrx

  • Posts: 21
Need a KVM or something
« Reply #13 on: Wed, 13 June 2012, 05:32:07 »
I wanted to post it again, like mushupork said is there any reason a hardware solution isn't the solution? http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817183303