Author Topic: HHKB Pro 2 vs Leopold FC660C  (Read 34495 times)

Offline morpheus

HHKB Pro 2 vs Leopold FC660C
« on: Fri, 23 August 2013, 12:25:54 »
OK,

To owners of both, which one do you enjoy typing on more?
I know the differences are subtle, but here at GH, I think we all thrive on those subtleties.
So, tell me, what makes you prefer one over the other?

Thanks!

Offline eadams

Re: HHKB Pro 2 vs Leopold FC660C
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 23 August 2013, 13:18:29 »
Hey there,

I owned a HHKB for a while.  As a hardcore unix developer, I can appreciate using hjkl as arrows in vi and whatnot.  I really wanted to make it work, and gave it about a month but ultimately switched away.  Using other keyboards from time to time (ie. the wife's laptop) really messed with my muscle memory and ultimately made me a worse typist.  If you are in an environment where you have complete control over the equipment you use, ie. leaving a hhkb pro 2 and work and one at home, never using a laptop keyboard, etc, you may not experience the same pains I did, but it will still take a while to get used to.

My FC660C comes in on Monday from EK and I'm looking forward to letting you know more, but from what I learned in my HHKB days, I'm okay hitting a meta for almost everything except arrows, so I suspect I'll be really happy with it.  I will probably lose some efficiency when using other boards occasionally because of muscle memory, but it won't be nearly as bas as reaching for a meta to use arrows in the extremely nonstandard way that HHKB has them laid out.

- Eric

Offline mauri

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 23 August 2013, 14:15:48 »
If you look very closely you'll find the hhkb is missing two keys from its both bottom corners.
I AM BABAR KING OF THE ELEPHANTS

Offline Quardah

• DeliTech
« Reply #3 on: Fri, 23 August 2013, 14:38:32 »
OK,

I know the differences are subtle, but here at GH, I think we all thrive on those subtleties.

Thanks!

Get both
Try them
Keep your favorite