Author Topic: Hey all, Im cub3y!  (Read 1756 times)

Offline cub3y

Hey all, Im cub3y!
« on: Fri, 22 November 2013, 01:56:51 »
Hi all!

I'm cub3y, long time lurker here at geek hack. Always wanted to own a mechanical keyboard, but options were always limited in my country on a student budget!

A little bit about me:
I am 24 years old, from New Zealand and I am a programmer by profession. I work with the amazing crew at 3months.com, using Ruby on Rails as my preferred web framework (if your a rubyist, drop me a line! @nzcub3y - always keen to have discussions with other devs)

Now that I am no longer a poor student, I have plunged into the mechanical keyboard world rather head on. WARNING long story about how in the space of a week lurking on geek hack has influenced me to spend $430nzd on keyboards:

My keyboard journey leading to now:
I have owned many 'good' keyboards from cheap dells to expensive logitech gaming keyboards. Lately I've been using an Apple full-sized aluminium keyboard, which has been seriously hurting my hands (seriously Apple, wtf were you thinking!?)

Last weekend I went to a big Lan party and I noticed there were 5 people all in a row using what looked like IBM Model M keyboards. I have actually wanted one of these for ages. So naturally I went upto them and asked where they got them from + most importantly do they have any spare for sale. Turns out one of the guys had saved a whole bootload of them from being trashed at a local school. He had since given many away to his friends and sold a few online. BUT he had a few left! I asked him how much he would sell one to me for and he said $20nzd! SOOOO CHEAP, I bought it off him the next day at the lan (he had to get one from home) and proceeded to clean it for over an hour and use it for the rest of the lan.