Author Topic: Keyboard Topre advice  (Read 6913 times)

Offline Debeucci

Keyboard Topre advice
« on: Sun, 15 December 2013, 02:10:42 »
Hello all,

First time on the forum. Hi!

I've been OCDing about getting a Topre keyboard and I'd love to query the forum for their thoughts.  Right now, I have an IBM Model M keyboard and love the tactile and clicky sounds but was hoping for something a little less ugly-looking for my library. My wife prefers I switch to something quieter.

I'm interested in getting either a HHKB or a Realforce and was wondering which one is better for my lifestyle?

I am a professional SFF author and will write upward of 300-400k words a year. Basically, I am on the keyboard a hell of a lot. On top of that, I do game, though mostly dota/rts/rpg games. I'm too old and my reflexes are too slow for FPS.

I'm not a programmer but I love the form factor of the HHKB but I'm not sure if the keyboard is conducive to 16 hour writing sessions.  I also worry about going so minimalist since I've always had a keyboard with numpads/arrows though I rarely use them. I'm not too worried about adjusting to a new keyboard and plan to get them non-printed keycaps either way (do they go non-printed for the Realforce?).

Unfortunately, there isn't a place I can test this out so any input would be appreciated.

Thanks!

« Last Edit: Sun, 15 December 2013, 02:57:39 by Debeucci »

Offline Linkbane

Re: Keyboard Topre advice
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 15 December 2013, 02:24:26 »
Hello all,

First time on the forum. Hi!

I've been OCDing about getting a Topre keyboard and I'd love to query the forum for their thoughts.  Right now, I have an IBM Model M keyboard and love the tactile and clicky sounds but was hoping for something a little less ugly looking for my library. My wife prefers I switch to something quieter.

I'm interested in getting either a HHKB or a Realforce and was wondering which one is better for my lifestyle?