Author Topic: Ergo Wacom  (Read 7920 times)

Offline VimLover

Ergo Wacom
« on: Mon, 07 July 2014, 12:19:51 »
I'm a fresh graduate so I don't have any experience with wrist/hand issues, but many of the older programmers at my office do. I have read a few reviews of the Wacom Intuos Pen and Touch that state it is much more ergonomic than a mouse. I am left handed, so my choices for traditional ergonomic mice (mice in general) is limited. The idea of having the pen with application buttons and touch support is making me consider purchasing a Wacom and trying to make the switch from a Logitech M525 mouse (which is the best left handed compatible mouse I have been able to find).

Does anyone have any opinions or experiences on touchpads for ergonomics? Any comments on the idea of using an Intuos as a daily driver?

Offline hashbaz

• Grand Ancient One
  • * Moderator Emeritus
Re: Ergo Wacom
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 07 July 2014, 12:27:11 »
A lot of people I work with use a tablet instead of a mouse, due to RSI symptoms.  I asked one woman about it and she said she got used to it very quickly.  I think the main thing is that a pen exercises different muscles than a mouse, so it's an option for those who are already injured to continue working.  Not sure if it's fundamentally "better" for ergo (though I could be wrong).

Regardless, I think all the same principles apply.  Don't plant your wrist, keep it aligned with your forearm and move from the elbow or shoulder, avoid click-and-hold as much as possible.
« Last Edit: Mon, 07 July 2014, 12:28:52 by hashbaz »

Offline davkol

•  Post Editing Timeout
« Reply #2 on: Mon, 07 July 2014, 15:11:49 »
I've recently read a few studies that concluded that pen-controlled graphic tablets were more ergonomic than mice. I think some of them are available through Google Scholar.