Author Topic: Faux-pas to mix different profile keycaps?  (Read 8097 times)

Offline ihatefirewalls

Faux-pas to mix different profile keycaps?
« on: Tue, 22 July 2014, 17:03:52 »
I'm pretty new to custom keycaps and was wondering what you guys thought about mixing different profile keys.

Is it acceptable to mix things like Cherry keys on the function rows with OEM alphanumerics+mods? What about mixing spherical and cylindrical caps?

Any rules you guys generally follow?
« Last Edit: Tue, 22 July 2014, 17:08:04 by ihatefirewalls »

Offline rowdy

• HHKB Hapster
  • * Erudite Elder
  • Missed another sale.
Re: Faux-pas to mix different profile keycaps?
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 22 July 2014, 17:18:50 »
A lot of people don't like mixing profiles.

If it is all over the place, like random profiles on different keys, you might find it difficult to type on.  Unergonomic at the very least.

But if you do it row by row with similar profile keycaps - shouldn't be too bad.

I'm not sure about mixing DSA with DCS with SA though - that would stand out a bit!
"Because keyboards are accessories to PC makers, they focus on minimizing the manufacturing costs. But that’s incorrect. It’s in HHKB’s slogan, but when America’s cowboys were in the middle of a trip and their horse died, they would leave the horse there. But even if they were in the middle of a desert, they would take their saddle with them. The horse was a consumable good, but the saddle was an interface that their bodies had gotten used to. In the same vein, PCs are consumable goods, while keyboards are important interfaces." - Eiiti Wada