Author Topic: How to desolder a Tipro and rescue stuck solder wick  (Read 3718 times)

Offline berserkfan

• changing diapers is more fun than model f assembly
How to desolder a Tipro and rescue stuck solder wick
« on: Thu, 24 July 2014, 10:47:37 »
Does anyone have any tips for desoldering a Tipro? I have not done a double sided board before and have much difficulty. I have done many single sided boards so I have some experience. I have a goot soldapull; helped me extract most of the solder from the tops but the deeper parts of this double sided PCB is still filled with solder and now I can't reach the solder that needs to be extracted.

Now my soldering wick (I cut several pieces) is stuck at several places on the board and can't come out. The wick seems to have minimal effect. When doing Cherry boards the wick was easy to use and I could always see the telltale plume of gas whenever the melting point was reached and the solder sucked up. On this board the wick doesn't produce much gas (same spool of wick) and it sucks up very little.

Any advice is welcome and will be immediately tried out!
« Last Edit: Thu, 24 July 2014, 12:12:46 by berserkfan »
Most of the modding can be done on your own once you break through the psychological barriers.

Offline jdcarpe

• * Curator
  • Live long, and prosper.
Re: How to desolder a Tipro and rescue stuck solder wick
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 24 July 2014, 10:53:00 »
To get the wick off, you'll probably have to add lots of flux and then heat it until it comes off.

To get the solder out of the plated through holes, I would HIGHLY recommend a suction device, such as a Soldapullt. I would never attempt to desolder a double sided PCB with only solder wick.
KMAC :: LZ-GH :: WASD CODE :: WASD v2 :: GH60 :: Alps64 :: JD45 :: IBM Model M :: IBM 4704 "Pingmaster"

http://jd40.info :: http://jd45.info

in memoriam

"When I was a kid, I used to take things apart and never put them back together."

Offline berserkfan