Author Topic: Bought my first nice keyboard.  (Read 1216 times)

Offline solarundies

Bought my first nice keyboard.
« on: Wed, 20 August 2014, 20:56:32 »
Hey guys.

I just bought my first nice keyboard. I opted for the Happy Hacking Keyboard Pro 2. I have very little experience with mechanical keyboards, let alone Topre switch keyboards.

I decided on it after having messed with a Das Keyboard with MX Blues and finding it far too loud for my taste. I'm fairly happy with the feel of the Topre switches. I just can't quite get used to the lack of dedicated arrow keys.

I'm still getting used to it all and have already started looking around for other options....I'm going to be so poor.

Offline JaydrVernanda

Re: Bought my first nice keyboard.
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 20 August 2014, 21:05:22 »
i always liked the idea of a 60%, but i couldn't even imagine getting used to a board without arrow keys. after i discovered the glory that is spacefn, though, i bought an hhkb and never looked back.

Offline Rewind

• Street Fighter
  • Drive slow, homie
« Reply #2 on: Wed, 20 August 2014, 21:06:42 »
Great decision!

The HHKB layout will grow on you. After a few weeks you will be used to the location of the arrow keys.

When I first received it I didn't understand all the hype about it, but after about 3 months I went back to my Filco and I realized how great the HHKB felt.

Now I mainly use the HHKB at work, and use blues or reds here at home for gaming etc. You're right though, while you stay interested in boards you can say good bye to your savings :D

Enjoy the board and welcome to geekhack!

Offline solarundies

« Reply #3 on: Wed, 20 August 2014, 21:50:00 »
Great decision!

The HHKB layout will grow on you. After a few weeks you will be used to the location of the arrow keys.

When I first received it I didn't understand all the hype about it, but after about 3 months I went back to my Filco and I realized how great the HHKB felt.