Author Topic: Buying original Ducky Shine 3 keycaps  (Read 5056 times)

Offline hey00

Buying original Ducky Shine 3 keycaps
« on: Fri, 05 September 2014, 15:17:45 »
Hello,

I'm new to the mechanical keyboards world. After hearing so much about them, and trying a few, I decided to get myself one. I bought a Shine 3, with brown switches, and I am satisfied.

Thing is, I live in France, but don't like the French layout (AZERTY), but I couldn't find a qwerty layout except by shipping it, and I didn't want to pay the additional fees (from what I saw, it was cheaper to buy it in France and get a new keycaps set shipped) and take the risk of having to send it back to the UK or US if I needed to use the warranty.

So now I am searching for replacement keycaps to make my AZWERTY into a QWERTY. I know there are many sellers selling Shine 3 keycaps, but I couldn't find one selling the same as the original. I don't want to change all the keycaps, just a few letters and the symbols keys, so I don't want them to look out of place compared to the rest.

Hence why I search for original Shine 3 keycaps. I emailed Ducky about it, asking them if they do sell them separately or if they can forward me to a retailer, I wait for the answer, so in the meantime, I thought I could ask here.

Since it's only keycaps, I'm ready to have them shipped from abroad, but can find a retailer selling those. Does any of you know about one that does?

Thank you

Offline qwack

Re: Buying original Ducky Shine 3 keycaps
« Reply #1 on: Fri, 05 September 2014, 15:30:14 »
You may be able to get ANSI keyboards and keycaps from Dutch sellers, maybe try alternate.be or mechanicalkeyboards.nl.

Otherwise, mechanicalkeyboards.com usually carries ANSI Ducky Shine sets (for the Shine 2, not 3), but
I don't think I've ever seen black Shine sets for sale, only dark grey/white/purple.