Author Topic: Hello, from the Little Red Dot!  (Read 1028 times)

Offline Veridis

Hello, from the Little Red Dot!
« on: Mon, 13 October 2014, 07:30:25 »
I'm from Singapore aka The Little Red Dot. I've lived in the US for half of 2013 while studying at UVA,and it was great fun! Already started some threads in the Keyboard forum, so this thread is overdue.

In late 2008 my expensive Razer keyboard started malfunctioning. When I opened it up I was so pissed to find it had the same crappy rubber membrane as $5 keyboards. Went online and got myself a Das Keyboard.

I have been using it for 6 years without buying any other keyboard or key caps, and it has held up really well. The switches are so broken in that they don't really have the tactile bump like on the browns. Only the click remains. I bottom out every key on the Das, and it makes a loud plastic on metal sound that I enjoy.

Recently I got my first job as a system analyst, and used the crappy Acer membrane keyboard that was assigned to me. After 3 months I got sick of it and bought a Ducky zero TKL with brown switches. This was just 2 weeks ago.

I started to really like the ability to have my mousing hand nearer to the center, and started reading the forums in search of a quality TKL for home. I realized that I no longer liked new MX blue switches because they required much more effort to type on than on my old blue switches.

It was either another MX brown TKL or the Novatouch with 45g topre. I've tried the novatouch in store on two separate days and finally decided to buy it to try out topre, variety being the spice of life and all. The fact that it had MX stems meant I could get nice key caps now, even if I end up selling it and going back to Cherry MX only.

After only 2 days with a topre keyboard I still don't know if it is "better" than MX, they are really too different to compare. I enjoy both.

Thank you for reading!