Author Topic: Ergodox Foot pedal  (Read 3257 times)

Offline zarquon

Ergodox Foot pedal
« on: Sat, 10 January 2015, 03:54:19 »
I discovered this whole new world of mechanical keyboards a few weeks ago. Since then I sourced and built an ErgoDox and I'm trying to getting used to it.
The potential in this thing just blew my mind. After some more research I learned about foot pedals, and thought it might be awesome to hook some pedals directly to the ergodox. This way it would be possible to use it for layer switching among other things.

I tried to find some information about it, but couldn't find anything besides some posts mentioning a similar idea, but nothing of practical use. May be foot pedals / foot switches aren't that popular. I'm myself isn't sure about the practical value of them, but I'd like to try it out.

Obviously I'm very new to all this, I don't know C (yet) and know nothing about the hardware part, but I guess it could be done.
Could anyone point me to the right direction, how to start such a project?

I'm planning to use an FS3 (http://www.pcsensor.com/index.php?_a=product&product_id=153) pedal.
Any help is really apprechiated.

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
Re: Ergodox Foot pedal
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 10 January 2015, 05:02:25 »
Essentially you just need to run two wires from a suitably tough and good quality switch (low resistance - keyboard signals are small) to an unused gap in your key matrix then treat it the same as any normal key.  As you're using it for layers it doesn't matter if it bounces (records two presses) or anything like that.   

The only problem might be if there's a wire length limit - hopefully someone will know, if not I'd be willing to experiment...

The pre-made switch is not ideal as you'd be paying for all the circuity which you don't need, I suggest looking into what DIY'ers use to make guitar pedals.

Interesting idea :)
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear