Author Topic: Group Buy Economics  (Read 15239 times)

Offline KylJoy

Group Buy Economics
« on: Mon, 20 February 2012, 00:33:34 »
I'm not sure where to post this and it is GB related so I dropped it here.

Too clarify, I'm not *****ing about Ragnarok's GB.  I think the way he is running it is AWESOME.  I'm just wondering about the economics of these group buys in general.  I am still relatively new to GH and these GBs.  Seems like some folks are willing to pay more $$$ for fewer keys.  I'd spend a few more $$$ to get a lot more caps to increase my chances of matching various keyboards in the future.

Here are some numbers from the Ragnarok Red/Black GB:

If 50 people each bought a Ragnarok, a Phantom kit and a 104 kit it would cost them $79.00 each.

If 75 people each bought a Ragnarok, a Phantom kit and a 104 kit it would cost them $67.00 each.

But I bet there would be even more savings if the only offering in the GB were for all of those keys in one set.  I bet the cost of each set (for 50) would be more like $60 each.  Heck, throw in ISO and the price might be $65?  And at this rate it looks to me like we are well on our way to 75 base orders.

I'm not asking anyone to change anything.  I'm just wondering if the options are really worth it in the end.  Right now the base set for the Ragnarok GB is $52.00.  But if 75 of us were buying a set with all of the keys in it it would only be another few bucks or so to get all of it.  And everyone would get what they wanted/needed.

So, why not just have one big set with no options?  Those of you with more experience please school me.
« Last Edit: Mon, 20 February 2012, 00:42:37 by KylJoy »

Offline WhiteFireDragon

• youtube
Group Buy Economics
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 20 February 2012, 00:39:49 »