Author Topic: Organic hardwood plates for 60% Boards  (Read 37928 times)

Offline kwhilden

Organic hardwood plates for 60% Boards
« on: Tue, 01 March 2022, 01:08:51 »
Mod Edit: This post was split off from the original IC thread (please click through for background info - IC text copied in <more> tag below) - OP, when you see this please feel free to update this post as needed and remove my edit notes :thumb:

More

Introduction

Greetings all...  I joined this hobby in 2019, and have been tweaking and customizing my own boards for a while. I've had great feedback from my friends in the hobby, and now I would like to find out if there is interest in the wider community.

A bit about me... i'm a geologist and "dig" the parallel explosion of the mechanical keyboard hobby to the famed Cambrian Explosion 540 million years ago.  All kinds of new animals evolved in a very short time, which is similar to the diversity of keyboard types, switches, and more that have evolved in the past few years. 

So here's my first contribution... a hand-made hardwood plate for 60% keyboards.  Under the auspices of the most famed animal from Cambrian epoch, the Trilobite. 

Organic Hard Wood Plate for 60% Keyboards

I'm also an audiophile and very keen on sound quality. I created this plate to have an excellent and unique sound signature.

The thick hardwood plates have outstanding resonance and tone. There's nothing like it in the market, although if pressed I would call it a cross between carbon fiber and polycarbonate, but with a more organic and less plastic sound.

Plate Specs:
  • 60% tray mount plate
  • 3.0mm thick 3-layer hardwood veneer
  • fixed layout for improved sound + aesthetics
  • laser cut "ledges" for better fitment of switches and stabs
  • Handmade in California, USA
  • Price: $50 ea.

As I'm just starting in manufacturing products for our hobby, your feedback will EXTREMELY appreciated, both in this post and in an interest check form.