Author Topic: The Slanck. What could go wrong using the plate as a wire?  (Read 31172 times)

Offline cribbit

The Slanck. What could go wrong using the plate as a wire?
« on: Thu, 13 October 2016, 03:15:59 »
See end of topic for current progress & stupidity!

=====

This is an idea that I've been kicking around for almost two years now. With a 4 row, 13 col footprint it falls into the 45% category. I call it a staggered Planck since it holds the same aversion to keys larger than 1u, besides a 2u spacebar. However, the additional column vs the 12 of a Planck/40% allows for a much fuller layout.

The goal of this layout is for a highly portable board that maintains a typing experience as close as possible to a normal keyboard.

Click 'More' to see pictures!

More

Shown so far is the prototype I built (before it got stolen RIP tiny keyboard) that allowed me to test how viable the layout was. With the layout confirmed viable, I've moved on to designing the PCB and a metal case for the next iteration.

The 2u spacebar in the layout picture is actually 2 stems, the idea being that it can be moved as needed. Prototypes will have 2x 1u keys for now. Though I personally type with my right thumb for spacebar, not everyone does. Also, gaming requires the spacebar to be south-east of the wasd (or esdf) cluster. A 1u spacebar is proving much more manageable than I originally though!

More details are given on various subjects in the posts below. I hope to offer as much detail as possible to help others with their own custom builds.
« Last Edit: Thu, 31 August 2017, 19:58:29 by cribbit »
I typed this post on my Slanck. I also developed a stronger, cleaner, easier handwiring method.

Offline cribbit

Re: The Slanck: A custom staggered Planck
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 13 October 2016, 03:37:46 »
Reasoning & previous iteration of layout:

More