Author Topic: Not too sure what I want..  (Read 5498 times)

Offline BenBenMan

Not too sure what I want..
« on: Wed, 06 May 2009, 07:39:49 »
Hi guys,
I've been lurking around Geekhack for the past few days, as I'm currently looking at getting a keyboard. I'm a second-year computer science student, so I spend a lot of my time typing, but on occasion I'll play a few games. I've been using this Dell notebook keyboard for the past three years and am becoming increasingly concerned by the effect it's having on my fingers... so now I'm looking at real keyboards.

At the moment I'm looking at either the Das Keyboard III Professional or the Unicomp Customiser 104 ... every review I've seen of the Das has been positive, but on the other hand every review I've seen of the Customiser has said it's excellent as well. For those who have both, which is the better keyboard?

Also, are there any places in Australia which sell the Unicomp keyboards, or do I have to order directly from Unicomp?

Cheers...
Have:Unicomp Customizer 104, IBM Model M Spacesaver 1397681
Want: nothing at the moment, except maybe multimedia controls for my Unicomp :)

Offline kyamei

« Reply #1 on: Wed, 06 May 2009, 07:54:02 »
While I'm sure the Das is a decent board (cherry blue switches are nice), I wouldn't pay $130 for something that does this.

As for the Customizer, it should be a fine board if you don't mind the high spring tension of buckling springs.  I personally find them too heavy for my liking, but many others here love them.  You will probably have to order directly from Unicomp.
Topre:  Realforce 101, Realforce 87U, HHKB Pro 2
Cherry Brown:  Compaq MX11800
Cherry Blue:  Filco FKBN87MC/EB
Cherry Black:  K-202 numerical keypad
Alps Black:  AT101W, ABS M1
Alps White:  Focus FK-2001
Buckling Springs:  Model M 1391401, Lexmark Model M 82G2383, Model M2
Buckling Sleeves:  Unicomp Model M4
Futaba:  Sejin EAT-1010

Offline ozar

« Reply #2 on: Wed, 06 May 2009, 13:58:54 »
Quote from: BenBenMan;89434