Author Topic: Mechanical design questions  (Read 2781 times)

Offline pca006132

Mechanical design questions
« on: Tue, 04 October 2022, 09:32:26 »
Hi, I am new to custom keyboards and just started making my own ergonomic keyboard design (a mix of Moonlander and Redox), I just finished the first generation prototype and is now thinking about a second iteration, and have some questions about keyboard design:

1. Is it better to add weights to a 3D printed keyboard? The keyboard feels a bit light now and will wobble a bit. Not sure about the tradeoff for keyboard weight, e.g. typical weight and how will this affect the sound of the keyboard.
2. What is the recommended material for 3D printing the keyboard? It seems that material will affect the sound of the keyboard, wondering if there is some sort of guide to choosing the material.
3. What is the best way to fix tilt legs in a certain angle? I just use a screw and tighten it until the leg can withstand certain torque without moving, but this seems not very elegant and requires a screwdriver.
4. Is there any guide for 3D print postprocessing that can make the keyboard look a bit more polished? The current prototype looks a bit rough and cheap...

-------

To add a bit of context to the questions, here are some pictures of my current design:
291998-0292000-1292002-2

The parts are either connected using screws or plastic rods that I custom designed with a little lock to lock it in-place. The next design will try to hide the screws/rods and improve on the appearance of the keyboard. The keyboard design will be open sourced after I finished the design revamp and tested the design. This uses WeAct blackpill for a mechanically stronger USB-C connector (through-hole!), instead of the fragile little teensy.

Offline cest73

Re: Mechanical design questions
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 10 October 2022, 15:36:59 »
2. ABS - it has overall the best properties among the viable options - so totally need an heated (65 degrees C) enclosure...