Author Topic: Starting a custom keyboard  (Read 5744 times)

Offline grips

Starting a custom keyboard
« on: Sat, 25 May 2013, 12:47:53 »
First of all, let me apologize for my naivete on the whole subject. I'm still very new to the keyboard community, but somewhere in the past week while perusing keyboards I slipped and fell into the deep end, and now I can't stop thinking about keyboards. There are a lot of details regarding them that I am not experienced with.

For that reason, I wanted to ask for some advice in planning out a custom keyboard. When I say custom, I don't mean original in any way. I would just like to grab some PCB, slap some switches and a plate onto it and put it in a case. Of course, I really don't know what I'm talking about when I say all that, but I would like to have put together my own keyboard in a big way.

With that in mind, is there any point of beginning that would be more ideal? Do I start thinking about a PCB first and then layering the other components on top of it? I'm also not sure what the sum necessary parts of a keyboard would be. I would like to be able to remove the switches without desoldering, though (the Simple Questions Simple Answers thread mentioned this was possible), just so I can disassemble the board to try other things with it at some point.

Again, I apologize if there was a thread I missed that addressed these kinds of things. There is a lot of info in the forum and I got a little excited.

Offline Photekq

• wheat flour zone
  • sorry if i was ever an ******* to you
Re: Starting a custom keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 25 May 2013, 12:49:27 »
What kind of layout do you want? 60%, tenkeyless or fullsize? Once we know the layout you want we can start to help.
https://kbdarchive.org/
github
discord: hi mum#5710

Offline grips

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 25 May 2013, 12:54:41 »
What kind of layout do you want? 60%, tenkeyless or fullsize? Once we know the layout you want we can start to help.