Author Topic: Desoldering SIP-Sockets: Impossible for newbies???  (Read 5632 times)

Offline hKing

• I am ze Ubermensch!
Desoldering SIP-Sockets: Impossible for newbies???
« on: Sat, 05 March 2016, 05:46:35 »
Hello there,
the last days I tried to desolder my Winkeyless Bface because I want to swap the top plate.

Desoldering the switches isn't a big problem (I work with a normal desolder pump and solder wick if needed) for me although I am a total noob.

Desoldering the SIP-sockets is a real pain in the ass, it just doesn't work.
The holes for the SIP-sockets / LEDs are so small, it seems that I am unable to get the solder out of the hole. Solder wick or repeated pumps with the desolder pump doesn't work ...

Help!!!!!!  :eek:

Offline axtran

Re: Desoldering SIP-Sockets: Impossible for newbies???
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 05 March 2016, 07:58:38 »
You have to add a lot of solder and flux. Remember that the heat has to conduct through the lead in order to get to all of the remaining solder in the hole--applying the iron doesn't conduct heat transfer as well as you would think. When pulling with the desoldering pump, ensure that you are also holding the iron so that it draws heat along the path toward the desoldering pump to ensure it does not prematurely cool. It's a pain, and you'll have better luck with a proper desoldering iron.
MX Silent > MX Vintage Black > Everything Else

Offline suicidal_orange

• * Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: Sat, 05 March 2016, 08:16:25 »
Yeah, desoldering LEDs is not fun.  I find it easier to add solder to join both leads together in one molten blob then pull out the LED, and finally clean up the solder, but not sure how well that would work with SIP sockets as there really isn't much to pull on.
120/100g linear Zealio R1  
GMK Hyperfuse
'Split everything' perfection  
MX Clear
SA Hack'd by Geeks     
EasyAVR mod

Offline hKing

• I am ze Ubermensch!
« Reply #3 on: Sat, 05 March 2016, 09:52:29 »