Author Topic: Side Scroll Wheel  (Read 2501 times)

Offline //gainsborough

• ALPSの日常
Side Scroll Wheel
« on: Sun, 29 November 2020, 18:00:41 »
I'm not sure where to post this, but I wanted to post it somewhere before I lose my motivation!

I was talking to LightningXI about knobs on keyboards and he pointed out that for right-handed users, using the traditional placed knob (typically on the right-hand side of a board) means taking your hand off of your mouse and turning.  A knob on the left-hand side of the board is one solution, but that's typically where escape lives, or if the design adds another column to the left of the alpha block, you're extending the length of the board by a little bit.  So then I thought, what about a wheel on the side of the board that is mostly underneath the PCB and protrudes enough to turn it with your left hand?

Something like this:

I am not a designer by any stretch of the imagination but thought it would be cool to see this incorporated in future projects by anyone that wants to use it. 

Offline mcmaxmcmc

Re: Side Scroll Wheel
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 29 November 2020, 18:12:01 »
I think it's a good idea, but in order to have a round wheel where the scroll would be, the bezel between the function row and the main cluster has to be increased quite a bit just to make the wheel fit.  Having a small wheel is a no-go either, in my opinion.  :-X

However, I would like to also propose having a sort of touchscreen there, or a sensor of some sort.  I find it quite intuitive to rub on the side of the keyboard, although using three fingers.  Having something there is definitely something I look forward to, as it can be quite helpful.  :D

Offline //gainsborough

• ALPSの日常
« Reply #2 on: Sun, 29 November 2020, 18:26:40 »
Well, I figure the board just has to be "taller" to accommodate the wheel, since the daughterboard for it would be underneath the PCB - that way the wheel could be of any size as well!