Author Topic: Hello GH :)  (Read 1142 times)

Offline Bamboo238

Hello GH :)
« on: Thu, 30 April 2020, 02:02:46 »
Hey all, thought I would introduce myself as I usually lurk in these types of forums. I'm a PhD student in the Netherlands (though, originally from England/Brazil).

This all started for me when I started getting some RSI form long hours of typing. I naively thought to myself: "I should look into getting a better desk setup".  Well.. six months and endless internet research has led me here. My first proper 'mech' was an HHKB, and I thought I could leave it at that. But, I joined in on the decent65 GB, and am currently waiting for some tools to start learning soldering  ^-^.  Let's just say my girlfriend is quite confused about this descent in to keeb madness. But I can get quite obsessive about my hobbies, as I'm sure a lot of you do too. 
Well, currently trying to decide if I'm a linear or tactile guy -  and if tactile..... how tactile.  But either way, happy to be here!

Offline Maledicted

Re: Hello GH :)
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 30 April 2020, 11:11:22 »
Hi Bamboo238. Welcome to Geekhack.

Keyboards are probably the best modern practical place to learn soldering. Plenty of space between the giant solder pads. She'll probably understand once she tries a switch she likes. I have never seen somebody try mechanical keyboards and go, "eh, I don't really care about that."

The choices are only linear or tactile? What about clicky? Which switches have you tried?

Offline switchnollie

• sleever supreme
  • * Exquisite Elder
  • greyhat co-leader
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 30 April 2020, 21:31:41 »
Welcome :)

I learned Dutch for a little over two years, have fun with the testing.

There's so many options now compared to when I first really started getting into this :p

Keyboards: HHKB Pro 1 & OTD 356CL Dark Greyhat Edition, baybee!

Offline Bamboo238

« Reply #3 on: Fri, 01 May 2020, 02:13:58 »
Hi Maledicted and switchnollie, thanks for the welcome!  :)