Author Topic: [build log] Maltron Deuce; a 185% split ergo keyboard project  (Read 6994 times)

Offline T14

Howdy.

This thread will document my attempt to rebuild two Maltron single hand keyboards into a split 185% keyboard system for a shared university office space.
As this is my first build log, I will likely make a mess of the post formatting initially, so please bear with me as I get my text and picture attachments in order after submitting the first few posts.

Project goals:
  • Project is to be hand wired
  • main keywells will be 122 keys with up to an additional 70 keys accessible in two extra clusters
  • Access to alphanumerics and symbols with a minimum of modifier and layer use
  • any macro keys should be reprogrammable on the fly, if possible
  • Silenced keys due to shared office space
  • Incorporates HID switch for use with two computers, each with their own screen
  • Incorporates some kind of Audio switch and control.
  • USB passthrough (hub) for additional devices

Project Background:
I dabble in human anatomy as well as engineering. Ergonomics is a hobby of mine, and I have long been frustrated with small keyboards that require extensive use of modifiers in order to access the symbols commonly used in mathematical programming.

I own a kinesis contoured already, but have been unhappy with the unsplit design, too narrow separation of hands for my liking, and far too few keys. The maltron 3D is only marginally better, so is not an option.

After purchasing a used 1H maltron on a whim, I fell in love with the solid biomechanical considerations in its keywell design as well as the generous number of keys immediately available. If coupled with a mirrored twin, we get a split design right out of the box. Hurray!

First order of business was to tear down my pre-owned right hand keyboard, in order to salvage the shell for use in the project.