Author Topic: Hey folks!  (Read 1510 times)

Offline dirtyblacksocks

Hey folks!
« on: Sat, 01 February 2014, 18:12:48 »
I'm completely new to custom keyboard builds, I was actually brought over here by a member of yours, HPE1000.

Anyway, I've dealt with mechanical keyboards quite a bit - I'm 31 years old and grew up learning to type on the old IBM M keyboards, and I've personally owned a Logitech G710+ and a few different Black Widow's - all of which are great builds, but I've gotta say they feel flimsy, there is something to them that isn't quite right and they wear in pretty fast.

Right now I've got a Logitech G710+ with some Octopus tactile orange keys to replace the arrow and WASD keys.

I'm a Disabled Veteran - so I spend a lot of my time on the computer, considering that a keyboard, mouse, and bed are the three most used things in my life - I figure I should look into making a keyboard of my own.

Certainly going to be a lot to learn. I'd like to ensure I know everything I can before I drop $500+ on a keyboard, y'know?

I'm glad to be here, though, and look forward to getting to figure all of this out. I've got a new computer build scheduled for about 8-10 months from now, so I figure I'll order in some of the stuff for a custom keyboard in between and hopefully it will arrive around the time I'm ready to start the build, or at the builds completion.

Great timing!

A lot of my time is spent helping Veteran's with PTSD and active duty military members. The rest of my time is spent training service dogs and rehabilitating abused dogs, and the REST of that time is spent working on My Little Pony stuff (yep, I'm a dreaded Brony) with one of the few people who makes a living doing MLP related art year 'round.

Visit the Typing Test and try!

Offline CPTBadAss

• Woke up like this
    • Tactile Zine
Re: Hey folks!
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 01 February 2014, 18:14:35 »