Author Topic: Kinesis new case construction?  (Read 3176 times)

Offline hayesdaniel

Kinesis new case construction?
« on: Sat, 07 January 2012, 23:15:48 »
Hey all,

I recently disassembled my 10 year old advantage to give it a well needed deep cleaning and it occurred to me how much empty space there is in the case. I also dislike the hollow plastic construction, especially when I switch to something like a newer apple keyboard.

It seems like it wouldn't be incredibly difficult to have something 3D printed that used the existing internals but had a slimmer profile and a more solid construction.

My day job is in VFX so I'm no stranger to 3D software, but I'm a CAD noob, so I'm not sure how to approach setting up where the existing hardware would fit in. Scanning would probably be too expensive for my budget so careful work with a ruler is probably what needs to happen, so I thought I'd ask some of the experts what their opinions might be.

(Obviously I wouldn't sell it or anything, this would just be a personal project.)

Thanks very much in advance!

Dan

Offline Input Nirvana

• Master of the Calculated Risk
  • If I tell ya, I'll hafta kill ya
« Reply #1 on: Sun, 08 January 2012, 01:03:19 »
Check the link in my sig for the split Kinesis. There is a pic of a caseless advantage with a trackball. Are you thinking of a skeleton case or just an angular, thinner profile? I have some ideas, but be more specific of what you want to see.

-skeleton
-caseless
-thin, angular, Italian looking design
-1 piece or 2 piece
-material

I had some thoughts of making a series of Kinesis mods, not just one.
Kinesis Advantage cut into 2 halves | RollerMouse Free 2 | Apple Magic Trackpad | Colemak
Evil Screaming Flying Door Monkeys From Hell                     Proudly GeekWhacking since 2009
Things change, things stay the same                                        Thanks much, Smallfry  
I AM THE REAPER . . . BECAUSE I KILL IT
~retired from forum activities 2015~

Offline hoggy