Author Topic: Greetings from California!  (Read 905 times)

Offline dky

Greetings from California!
« on: Thu, 14 May 2020, 14:21:33 »
Hi everyone,

Given our unique times, I have decided to take up keyboard making as a hobby.  I've gone down the [very deep] rabbit hole of searching for my ideal aesthetically pleasing, feeling, and sounding keyboard.  I'm a stranger to modding, PCB creation, case creation, etc., but I've fully committed myself to this hobby.  I'm a Software Engineer by day so the keyboard is my main form of communication.  It will be a long road ahead, but I'm excited to start this journey with your help.

As someone who is completely new to this world, I have some basic questions:

- What are some good beginner's resources?  I'm looking into case design, component architecture, PCB creation, etc.  I'm planning on following this guide at first: https://www.keebtalk.com/t/hi-im-jshufelt/3450 but this is more of a build log than a guide.  Any sort of instructional content you have followed would be incredibly helpful.
- If you could start over, what would you have avoided doing?  What are some things you wish you would have known (other than the deep pockets you need for this hobby).
- What are some common acronyms I need to know? I see a lot floating around, but a categorization view would be helpful.
- Where do you find your switches, cases, etc.?  What are some reputable websites I can rely on?
- What is a good beginner project to get my feet wet?  I bought a small soldering kit to get accustomed to it before jumping into real keyboards.

I've invested about $300 into a soldering station, pliers, fan, screwdrivers... pretty much everything you would see here: https://www.keebtalk.com/t/gios-starter-guide-to-tools-when-you-know-your-going-off-the-deep-end/2382 so it's getting real.  I'm a firm believer in having the best tools for the job.