Author Topic: GH60 Satan with HIDDEN USB THUMBDRIVE IN THE CASE! (SECOND ATTEMPT)  (Read 3164 times)

Offline WudUpA

Hi All,

I'm new at this.  I dont even know if I am posting in the correct place. I apologize if i am not and hopefully you will direct me to the correct place.

I'm posting because I am building a GH60 Satan keyboard.  I haven't received all the parts yet.  I was daydreaming about how I am going to build the keyboard and I got a crazy idea to hide a USB thumbdrive under the keyboard.  I want to wire it so that when you plug in the keyboard, it looks like just the keyboard is connected...but actually, there is a keyboard and thumbdrive connected to the computer. 

To achieve this, I wanted to buy a octopus usb hub, disassemble it for space saving.  Then directly connect it to the PCB.   

Do you think it would be easier to just hardwire the keyboard and skip the pcb modification?

this is a link to the usb hub that i was thinking about putting inside the case and wiring it to the pcb of the keyboard.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-2-0-External-Hub-4-ports-High-Speed-Hi-Speed-Octopus-Black-Adapter/131458937648?epid=1400304488&hash=item1e9b903330:g:jkYAAOSw43haH5uc

I am using a datamancer wooden case.  there appears to be plenty of room in the case for something like this to work.  What do you guys think?  Is it possible? 

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
Novelkeys NK65AE w/62g Zilents/39g springs
More
62g Zilents/lubed/Novelkeys 39g springs, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, pic
| Filco MJ2 L.E. Vortex Case, Jailhouse Blues, heavily customized
More
Vortex case squared up/blasted finish removed/custom feet/paint/winkey blockoff plate, HID Liberator, stainless steel universal plate, 3d printed adapters, Type C, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, foam sound dampened, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps (o-ringed), Cherry Jailhouse Blues w/lubed/clipped Cherry light springs, 40g actuation
| GMMK TKL
More