Author Topic: PCB_Bird help me Proofread  (Read 3161 times)

Offline ProCarpet

PCB_Bird help me Proofread
« on: Wed, 30 July 2014, 13:14:51 »
Hello some of you may remember im building a keybaord (link botom) im done with the case now its atm out for pearlblasting and anodizing. And i want to use that time to finish the pcb which i started.
Im not an electrican or anything close related so im new to this. This is actualy the first pcb i ever designed. Thas the reason why im pretty unsecure if evrything is right/correct.
Now u know why i need the help of this awesome community please proofread the pcb :D Thanks in advantage ^^.

Software: Altium Designer
For the mc im using a ATmega32U4 TQFP
And the crystal is this one: http://www.distrelec.ch/Web/Downloads/vi/ew/serie%20KX-7_overview.pdf?mime=application%2Fpdf

The points im most uncertain are:
1. The footprint of the crystal
2. The correct connection of the jtag to the mc
3. The Mc
3. The correct capacitors

Here are 2 pdfs 1 with the gnd polygon and one without
with polygon:http://www38.zippyshare.com/v/7412513/file.html
without:http://www38.zippyshare.com/v/1419478/file.html

Here are some pics of the pcb

Here link to the Keyboardtopic: http://geekhack.org/index.php?topic=56279.0
« Last Edit: Thu, 31 July 2014, 13:06:26 by ProCarpet »

Offline hasu

• @tmk
    • tmk keyboard firmware project
Re: PCB_Bird help me Proofread
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 30 July 2014, 23:35:40 »
I've used similar type of crystal and it was not easy to solder the component with iron. If you use reflow method with hot air or oven no problem at all, of course. I needed to make pads much bigger to hand-solder it. The reference design of pad in datasheet is too small to touch with soldering iron.

I'd recommend HC-49 type through hole or SMT compoenent instead of FA-238 type because it seems like you have enough space for it.

Offline dorkvader

• all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
« Reply #2 on: Thu, 31 July 2014, 00:02:45 »