Author Topic: Placement of trackpoint  (Read 10417 times)

Offline alkozu

Placement of trackpoint
« on: Tue, 10 May 2016, 09:11:01 »
Hi, first post after lots of reading in the forum.

So, I understand that the idea of a trackpoint is to have the hand in the homerow as much as possible. Normally, it is located between GHB and there are some additional buttons south of the space bar. This is reasonably fine, but still the hand has to move quite a bit. If one does not care about the buttons, because for instance they are pressed by the left hand via some function layer, where would be the best placement for the trackpoint? I conjecture that between YUH in QWERTY but I am not an expert in ergonomics, what do you think? Is there any study available?

These questions are related to a custom I would like to make with a trackpoint but no buttons.
« Last Edit: Tue, 10 May 2016, 09:14:46 by alkozu »

Offline Phenix

Re: Placement of trackpoint
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 10 May 2016, 09:22:03 »
If its going to be an 40% or 60% with split spacebar - im interested in an nice build. Log!
(was thinking about doing something like that. oneday.)

[size=85]typos due to my touch screen are possible[/size]

Winter is coming.

Offline alkozu

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 10 May 2016, 09:34:29 »
Did not decide yet, but my idea is something like the atreus but split and with one of the sprintek trackpoints or perhaps an ebay joystick and having the joystick translated to a mouse by the OS. But this is all the far future ;), for the moment thinking about the layout and where would the trackpoint make more sense.

Offline Phenix

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 10 May 2016, 09:37:36 »
Nice idea! looking forward seeing progress! (why not just getting an ergodox. And mount it Maybe among thumb and writinf section? Theres already place for it..)

Winter is coming.

Offline alkozu

« Reply #4 on: Tue, 10 May 2016, 09:46:50 »