Author Topic: Another new guy, starting my first build  (Read 1641 times)

Offline Skandocious

Another new guy, starting my first build
« on: Tue, 11 October 2016, 10:50:34 »
Hey folks-- glad to be onboard. I've been using an ErgoDox with MX clears for about a year now (wedding gift from a friend, very generous) but have yet to build my own setup.

I'm a SW engineer and over the past several months the ErgoDox has started to create a lot of fatigue in my hands, so I'm on the hunt for the perfect keyboard for me. I started the hunt by looking for the right switches-- my first thought was that less force would be better for fatigue so I picked up a MagicForce with Gateron Browns (supposedly 5g less than MX browns) to try out these switches for a few days on the cheap. I really disliked how light they were, I was constantly bottoming out and hitting adjacent keys accidentally. So I picked up an 8-switch sampler board with a variety of MX switches, and I think I actually do prefer the clears for both their tactile bump and having the right actuation force (or at least in the ballpark). So the obvious step-up for me from MX clears was Zealios 65g, and I've just placed an order for a bunch of those :)

On to the build! I found a post on Reddit from a guy that did a split-space bar build on an OLKB Atomic and I love this setup. My basic requirements:

- fully programmable
- dedicated arrows
- dedicated numbers across the top
- split-spacebar so I can use Backspace on the left and Space on the right (ala ErgoDox)

After using the ErgoDox (ortholinear) for a while and then going back to the MagicForce (staggered) I think I prefer the OL, but this is not a strict requirement at this point.