Author Topic: IBM Model M right shift key sticks  (Read 5115 times)

Offline systemparadox

IBM Model M right shift key sticks
« on: Thu, 14 December 2017, 06:31:21 »
Hi. I've been using my trusty Model M for many years now.

Recently the right shift key has started sticking - as in, it physically stays stuck down, or is just sluggish to spring back up.

I have fairly small hands so I'm usually pressing on the left 1/4 of the key, and I tend to slide my finger to the left as I press it, which causes the key to tilt slightly.

My suspicion is that it's an issue with the circular support post, but cleaning it hasn't helped at all. I've even tried lubricating it, which has helped a bit, but it's still sticking.

I'm wondering if anyone has experienced a similar issue? Any tips what the problem actually is, and how I might solve it?

Thanks.

Offline pixelpusher

• * Elevated Elder
Re: IBM Model M right shift key sticks
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 14 December 2017, 07:28:57 »
Did you try blowing air down into the barrel? Or fiddling with the spring?  Maybe the flapper isn’t set correctly.  I haven’t done a lot of model m repair but when my switches have issues those two things often help.

Offline systemparadox

« Reply #2 on: Tue, 19 December 2017, 03:39:11 »
I already tried blowing air in but that didn't help at all. I'm not sure what you mean by "flapper"?

The oil I added was a bit thin so I decided to try some vaseline. I also added some to the normal clip post. It's much better now, although still not perfect. I guess I will have to open it up and have a look at the spring.

Offline pixelpusher

• * Elevated Elder
« Reply #3 on: Tue, 19 December 2017, 07:43:43 »
Vaseline is a petroleum product and will degrade the plastic over time.  You should clean it out and use dielectric grease instead.   Superlube is a good solution for Vaseline like texture that is safe for plastic.