Author Topic: Ancient KBTalking Pure aluminum case needing a new pcb... recommendations?  (Read 2487 times)

Offline irjoe

Hi all,

I got into the 60% setup back in 2013 when KBtalking/KBC/Vortex was a thing and everyone and their mothers had Poker/Poker 2 setups. For some reason I chose the Pure edition for that extra tilde key, but since has been using the keyboard with some issues with failing keys which i presume to be an issue within the PCB itself. It's got this nice aluminum frame that I want to keep using as it'd be rather a waste to just throw it out, and want to use the housing to situate a new 60% keyboard. However I'm very new to the mod community and this is rather a new subject that I'm not very well versed in, so I wanted to pop in here to see if anyone know if this keyboard can be fitted with a different PCB that is more widely available.
It doesn't need to have the same setup as the KBT pure, and I'm open to any ideas as to how to salvage this aluminum frame.
l
There is a small opening on the bottom left side for dip switches, and the usb-A comes out from the top left of the frame. I looked up GH60 but it seems the USB port is located on the right? Or unless I'm looking at it flipped and the port ends up on the left afterwards...

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
website and what limited information is listed here: https://mechanicalkeyboards.com/shop/index.php?l=product_detail&p=3645

photos of the keyboard attached.. hopefully it shows up on the thread. been a while since ive been on here and used a forum, forgive me.

« Last Edit: Thu, 08 July 2021, 16:53:35 by irjoe »

Offline nevin

from one pure owner to another.... yes the standard GH60 works well. swapped one into mine... years? ago...
my pcb was failing too. i got mine from techkeys.us $35. done. no brainer. https://techkeys.us/collections/accessories/products/gh60

the pure case is pretty sought after. as it was one of the first/few heavy cast? aluminum tray mount cases.