Author Topic: Firmware recommendation for total newbie  (Read 4255 times)

Offline Ro-76

Firmware recommendation for total newbie
« on: Tue, 30 April 2019, 07:37:55 »
I have read this forum and watched numerous videos on the topic of building a custom keyboard, but can't seem to find a simple answer to my problem.

I have built a small custom keypad of 16 keys to control shortcuts on a radiology workstation. I've wired it all up as a matrix of 4 columns and 4 rows wired to a 8 pins on a teensy 2.0 with diodes etc. I've got the teensy communicating properly over usb to teensyduino.

I'm running into a challenge with the firmware build. I don't need any fancy bells or whistles, I just need to program my 16 keys with simple keystrokes like function keys and letters. I may stretch to having 2 keys that do ctrl+c and ctrl+x at most.

Could anyone please suggest a starting point or firmware to begin with. Most firmwares that I have looked at seem much more feature-rich and hence more complicated for a newbie like me.

Many thanks!

Offline Tactile

Re: Firmware recommendation for total newbie
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 30 April 2019, 08:19:59 »
I can't find a drop-in solution for you but have a look here to get started.
REΛLFORCE

Offline xack

• Make'n'Modify
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 30 April 2019, 09:05:32 »
I can't find a drop-in solution for you but have a look here to get started.

was about to post the same:
KeypadTutorial
But thats only one part. What you also want is send the key as a keypress to the computer.
For this you also need this:
Keyboard.print()
If you want to do key combos you might also need Keyboard.press() and Keyboard.release()

That should get you started ;)

Offline nevin

« Reply #3 on: Tue, 30 April 2019, 09:45:47 »
was just playing with this for a project another forum member is working on... try this
    (disclaimer.... i've never used the firmware from this site yet, but it's a web configurator for qmk, give it a shot)

go here: https://kbfirmware.com/