Author Topic: Help with Phantom!  (Read 1112 times)

Offline Jersern

• Australian Keyboard Modding and Repair Service
Help with Phantom!
« on: Mon, 27 October 2014, 23:10:51 »
Basically i soldered on the diodes and the teensy and flashed a firmware. Now when I short a switch hole to test, it sometimes (usually) triggers its entire row.  :mad: Also, some switches aren't registering correctly (if at all).
Please help! (I'm kinda new to the teensy and I can't program at all :( )

EDIT:
  • Phantom presses resolved

• Still requiring assistance on shorts not being registered as a keypress during testing
« Last Edit: Sat, 01 November 2014, 04:18:29 by Jersern »

Offline Jersern

Re: Help with Phantom!
« Reply #1 on: Tue, 28 October 2014, 00:46:10 »
Okay edit, it seems the "phantom presses" (geddit :P ok I'll stop with the crappy puns) problem was a firmware issue. BUT I still haven't identified the problem causing the shorts to not be registered as a switch press. After pulling out a multimeter, it seems that the switches that aren't working aren't connected to the Teensy. (I tested by plugging one end of the multimeter into one hole and brushed the other end along the pins on the Teensy and there was no response. Then I repeated with the other switch hole. Don't quote me on that one as I'm not too familiar with this whole thing). Also, if I put multimeter leads on each end of the diode, should there be a connection or not. If there's meant to be one then I have a lot of diodes to replace......  :eek:

Offline dorkvader

• all about the "hack" in "geekhack"
« Reply #2 on: Tue, 28 October 2014, 16:34:03 »
so a lot of your diodes have too much solder on them and not enough on the pad, this means the lead was heated too much and the pad not enough. You may want to reflow them (like all of them) by heating the pad and getting better contact. That could be one issue.