Author Topic: First project: Isn't quite a keyboard  (Read 7548 times)

Offline c1223

First project: Isn't quite a keyboard
« on: Wed, 28 December 2016, 14:36:07 »
I'm building a controller for a particular application (QLab) that I use at work. It will have 5 keys which will interface with this application via USB MIDI. As the application is run on two computers at the same time, each key will be connected to two Teensy 3.2s which will each be connected to a computer. That means I'll be able to fire both applications in sync (as a redundant system).

At this stage I'm designing the PCB that I'm going to be used. The next step will most likely be designing the frame etc... I'm most likely going to get a metal enclosure made I think. It all depends on the price. However, this is where I need your help. I'm a complete newbie when it comes to all of the mech keyboard terminology.

• I want to include RGB LEDs under each of the keys, so I'm looking to get the Gateron RGB switches (which I believe are milky white). As I understand, the general size and pin locations are basically a copy of the Cherry MX switches. As I understand, there are four different mounting types:

Is there any reason not to use the first (i.e. square)? What are the others for?
  • I want one of the keys to be larger (think like the backspace or right shift key). What size should the frame mount hole be? Will I need stabilisers (how do they work?) and will this affect the PCB layout?

I think that's all for now. I'm trying to draw a design at the moment, so will return with that which hopefully will be more helpful.

Offline TalkingTree

• My projects
Re: First project: Isn't quite a keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 28 December 2016, 16:12:56 »
Is there any reason not to use the first (i.e. square)? What are the others for?
The three other cutouts allow the switch top to be removed, that way, you can easily change springs or stems.