Author Topic: Keyboard for openspace  (Read 2761 times)

Offline galdor

Keyboard for openspace
« on: Wed, 24 December 2008, 05:58:29 »
Hi,

I'm a french student which discovered high-end keyboards some months ago. It sort of saved my hands, because membrane keyboards made my articulations/nerves ache (carpal tunnel syndrome start); I first had a Das Keyboard 2, wich was really too noisy, then I bought a HHK2pro, and have been using it about 8/10h a day for months.

I'm really happy with the HHK2pro, but I've a problem. In three months, I'm gonna begin my internship (network programming), so I'm gonna need a good keyboard to work on. Bringing my HHK2pro each day isn't really practical (unplugging/plugging 4 times a day), so I'd like to buy a keyboard just for work.
Problem is, I really can't put another 300€ (thank the French customs) in a keyboard, and my Das Keyboard 2 is really too noisy for an openspace.

So I'm searching for the perfect keyboard in ma situation: at least mechanical (hhk2pro-type keys would be perfect), not too noisy (hhk2pro is perfect from this point of view too), not too expensive (<150€).

I looked at the Steelseries 7G, they tell it uses "non-clicky mechanical keys", but I don't know how noisy it is.

Would someone have an idea ?

Thank you!

Nota: layout isn't a problem, I exclusively use a qwerty layout.

Offline kyamei

Keyboard for openspace
« Reply #1 on: Wed, 24 December 2008, 06:22:23 »
I think Cherry browns are one of the quieter switches, might want to check out a Filco with browns.  They have some tactile feel unlike the linear feel of the Cherry blacks used in the Steelseries.
Topre:  Realforce 101, Realforce 87U, HHKB Pro 2
Cherry Brown:  Compaq MX11800
Cherry Blue:  Filco FKBN87MC/EB
Cherry Black:  K-202 numerical keypad
Alps Black:  AT101W, ABS M1
Alps White:  Focus FK-2001
Buckling Springs:  Model M 1391401, Lexmark Model M 82G2383, Model M2
Buckling Sleeves:  Unicomp Model M4
Futaba:  Sejin EAT-1010

Offline eugenius