Author Topic: Gingham Review - Beginner Perspective  (Read 4121 times)

Offline khaaaaan

Gingham Review - Beginner Perspective
« on: Wed, 09 December 2020, 09:16:07 »
I haven’t seen many reviews of the Gingham through-hole kit and am so taken with it I thought I’d share my experience from a complete beginner perspective. I have had a little past experience with electronics, used to build guitar pedals from similar kinds of kits but I wouldn’t say I’m in anyway an expert, very much a beginner and my first keyboard build.

Purchase
Purchased from NovelKeys. Very fast delivery to the UK, four days via FedEx. Ordered with some lube and cherry red switches. No issues at all as you’d expect. I did make a mistake and ordered plate mount stabs, when PCB mount is required – I’ve since ordered the correct ones so all good. It currently has just a really cheap test set of keys while I decide what set I really want on it.

Packaging
The packaging is excellent. Everything in foam inserts and parts packaged in separate bags. I didn’t even realise it came with a case somehow, it has a useful mesh pocket and feels high quality – a slight gripe would be there is no real padding. It isn’t exactly hard but it doesn’t have the normal soft fleece type material that a case, for anything really, would normally have. Also comes with an M2 screwdriver which was nice, I had one already but they’re not a very common household tool so a thoughtful bonus.

The Build