Author Topic: [IC] Southpaw Split PCB and 3D printed cases  (Read 3474 times)

Offline Gondolindrim

• My GitHub
[IC] Southpaw Split PCB and 3D printed cases
« on: Mon, 02 December 2019, 01:15:02 »
What's up guys, Gondo here!

I have partnered up with Jake from P3D to offer an affordable split PCB kit and case. You may know Jake from the 3D printed cases he has been selling though his website https://www.p3dstore.com/, or from before as /u/skyybaby. We are excited to announce a new Interest Check for a PCB and Case that will be coming.

For those that don't know me, I'm a brazilian PCB designer best known for the Acheron Project, which encompasses the SharkPCB, Doddle60, ElongatePCB and the AustinPCB. Our idea for the PCB is a southpaw split keyboard featuring a number pad on attached on the left side, and a typical 65% right side. We are in the very early stages of the project, and I’d love to gather some interest and feedback to help influence how things will proceed.

Click here https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLScao0ggXHL9MEr5bWf9rYysa8zLx0dW9MVBpZXokYyYT7GLxg/viewform for the IC form to give us your opinion!

In the next sections we will present our ideas and areas we want your feedback.

The PCB

Below is an image of our actual idea for the PCB.

(1) Layout compatibility options. We are thinking of also a mirrored-numpad support, how do you guys feel about that? We are also considering adding ISO support, as well as split left and/or right shifts. Stepped caps lock is also on the list. We want feedback on these options, making an inclusive layout whilst keeping the PCB as solid as possible.

(2) How about RGB underglow or per-key lighting?

(3) The idea is to use USB type C connectors for the main PCB connector. However, there is an idea to do USBC also for the split connection (which generally is a TRRS connector). We feel this is a nice move, but different, as spilt users generally have TRRS cables laying around.