Author Topic: How to make my own keyboard support the light adjustment function on VIA  (Read 4757 times)

Offline Pattttta

Hi guys, this is my first post here on geekhack, I'm actually new to the hobby so there's a lot of stuff I don't know about (especially firmware, software stuff).

I wanted to make this keyboard mainly because I saw a video about KBDFANS MAJA posted by someone on youtube, and I liked its layout because it's ergonomic and has independent arrow keys. But they don't seem to sell this model right now and the price is a bit too expensive for me, so I was thinking to build a gasket mounted stack acrylic case version by myself.

At present, I have completed the production of the acrylic case, the positioning plate and the sandwich cotton. For PCB I asked a friend to draw the PCB for me to make it supports per key RGB, underglow. By the way it uses a Atmega32u4 chip.

Right now the PCB is still under production and I generated the hex file via keyboard firmware builder. The current problem is how can I use VIA, and be able to use the RGB configuration function on VIA for my per key RGB and underglow such as brightness adjustment, color adjustment. I want it to have multiple lighting effects adjustable on VIA  for both per key RGB and underglow, what do I need to do and how do I start. Because I saw a video on youtube, the keyboard used in the video is NK65, I want to know how can I make my keyboard achieve the same function.

By the way, thanks in advance for this platform and the people who are willing to help me!

Offline nevin

kbfirmware is a good starting point, but you're going to want to compile from source to implement the LED stuff.
kbfirmware uses and old snapshot of QMK and is not current or as configurable as compiling from source.
https://github.com/qmk/qmk_firmware
https://docs.qmk.fm/#/