Author Topic: yet another recommendation request  (Read 2602 times)

Offline dacat

yet another recommendation request
« on: Tue, 28 April 2009, 14:27:26 »
Currently using a SteelSeries 6G (got it free this is day 3 of use).
It replaced a mirosoft natural keyboard 4000 v1.

I feel like i am pounding on the keys.  I had to bottom out the keys on the MS keyboard to get it register consistently but it had some kind of padding at the bottom. The 6G  is all plastic when i bottom out.  

Features I want:
- I like the layout with the large backspace
- I would like the ability to remap keys easily (maybe with software) I use VI a lot and am contemplating remapping the ctrl key to the caps lock key for ease of use. It would be nice but not necessary to be able to mechanically remap the keys (if that's at all possible)
- Clickty keys are good for me since i do not share office space.

My job:
I am a programmer that spends must of his day in VI.

[edit]
On the recommendations below, it looks like i will be purchasing the following http://pckeyboards.stores.yahoo.net/cus101usenon.html
The hope is that I will lighten up my typing and not pound the keys so damn much. I thought about going the linux layout route, but since this is the first time in who knows how many years that i have a flat non-ergonomic board, i think i'll take  it one step at a time.

[edit]
I live in the US.

[edit]
Just orderd a Unicomp Customizer 101 white.
« Last Edit: Tue, 28 April 2009, 16:06:33 by dacat »

Offline FKSSR

« Reply #1 on: Tue, 28 April 2009, 14:29:33 »
Personally, I think you should try a Model M and use a program like KeyTweak to remap keys.

If you pound on keys, it may help you to get a key with a little resistance like a buckling spring keyboard.

If you find you start to type softer (which you probably will, at least a little), you can try white alps or blue cherry (less resistance in that order from BS).
Add me on Steam | Twitter

Offline dacat