Author Topic: help with a keyboard mod  (Read 1521 times)

Offline beshop

help with a keyboard mod
« on: Sat, 03 November 2018, 06:41:06 »
so, recently i got my hands on a cherry mx 8100 keyboard, which is a giant keyboard since it was extremely annoying to me with that size i decided to resize it, so i opened the keyboard up and i cut the pcb , removed the numbad and the extra buttons now after reconnecting the keyboard only few keys work would any one have an idea on how to fix this?

Offline Sup

• * Exquisite Elder
  • Doing university was a mistake
Re: help with a keyboard mod
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 03 November 2018, 09:31:12 »
I am no expert in keyboard PCB's or any other PCB. But i think you removed traces of the PCB that where needed to send the signal,current.
current
Filco Zero -  NOS Yellow Alps | Canoe R1 Gateron Red | AEK II JP Cream dampend |Filco Majestouch 2 Tex case Gateron Yellow | HHKB Pro 1 2003 Rev AO Serial 000171 | HHKB Pro 1 2003 Rev A1s|DZ60 OG Panda's with Fei spring and stem. | Sentraq S65_Plus OG Invyr Panda's | A17 Gateron Black TX 65G 3204 | Lubrigrante Wildcard Cherry MX silent blacks 3204 58.5G Springs | Rukia Everglide Tourmaline Blue 58.5G Springs | MGA Standard Greetech brown |
Coming soon
Rest in peace Billy Herrington(William Glen Harold Herrington) 1969-2018
Rest in peace Byron Daniel 1989-2020

Offline abrahamstechnology

« Reply #2 on: Sat, 03 November 2018, 10:06:10 »
Ummm... Because you destroyed the PCB?

Offline beshop

« Reply #3 on: Sat, 03 November 2018, 10:29:26 »
well i guess i'll get a new pcb then, thanks for ur help guys

Offline abrahamstechnology

« Reply #4 on: Sat, 03 November 2018, 10:40:20 »
well i guess i'll get a new pcb then, thanks for ur help guys

I don't want to sound mean or condescending, but why would you want to hack up a very unique keyboard like the 8100 anyway?

You could get a cheapo Cherry MY board and put a GH80-3000 PCB in it.

Offline Findecanor