Author Topic: Hello there  (Read 1498 times)

Offline Noise Maker

Hello there
« on: Thu, 17 October 2013, 05:23:14 »
Hello, geekhack members!

Keyboards are a passion of mine. Old or mechanical keyboards intrigue me the most. Nothing out of the ordinary, I guess.  :)

I don't have a lot of money at the moment, so I can't afford to start a collection. If I have a good keyboard, I will usually resell it. I manage to get them for a few bucks from hobos and people who have no idea what they're selling and usually make quite a profit per keyboard. It's not that much money overall, especially considering the time to test, clean and resell a keyboard.

I'm also a Computer science student. I'm interested in various math, philosophy and software areas.

After stumbling upon this forum quite a few times I finally decided to register and participate. I hope after a while I will be able to contribute at least as much as I take from this community.

Offline Linkbane

Re: Hello there
« Reply #1 on: Thu, 17 October 2013, 15:26:37 »
Welcome to wallethack.
Which keyboard do you use now?
Quickfire TK MX Blue Corsair K60 MX Red Ducky Shine 3 Yellow TKL MX Blue Leopold FC660C
Current best: 162 wpm.

Offline Noise Maker

« Reply #2 on: Fri, 18 October 2013, 12:22:09 »
Welcome to wallethack.
Which keyboard do you use now?

Thanks!
I don't use a specific keyboard now. I sold an NMB RT101+ with "space invaded" switches a while ago, so now I'm stuck with several new keyboards from SteelSeries, a Logitech G15, a few old Cherries (none are MX), a few other from Genius/ IBM/ X7/ Gigabyte. I will try to sell them and eventually build a collection of old keyboards.

Tomorrow I'm going to a flea market where lots of people sell good keyboards they found in the trash for next to nothing.

I have a few keyboards that have a few traces missing and I hope I can fix them with some sort of a conductive paste. Later I will make a thread about it, but now I have to go to bed (alarms for 4 am...).