Author Topic: [Build log] The Aviator, a custom keyboard  (Read 2792 times)

Offline WorldFly

[Build log] The Aviator, a custom keyboard
« on: Mon, 01 September 2014, 16:26:43 »
Hello all,

I'm currentely planning my custom keyboard because I still use an old rubber-dome keyboard.
Once I heard about mechanical keyboards I got my idea of an design for an custom keyboard.
So I started drawing my design.

This is how it looks right now:

76169-076171-1
76173-276175-3

It will be fully made out of 1.5 mm silver and black anodized aluminium which will be cnc-milled.
The cutouts for the MX-switches are still missing. I need to know first the dimensions for cutouts that can be milled.
As PCB i think I'm going to use Gons 108 NerD if no one has a better suggestion. Stabilizers will be costar.

What do you think how many space schould be between the PCB and the bottomplate to have enough space?

Regards Benjamin

Offline engicoder

Re: [Build log] The Aviator, a custom keyboard
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 01 September 2014, 17:28:26 »
The cutouts for the MX-switches are still missing. I need to know first the dimensions for cutouts that can be milled.
As PCB i think I'm going to use Gons 108 NerD if no one has a better suggestion. Stabilizers will be costar.

What do you think how many space schould be between the PCB and the bottomplate to have enough space?

The spec cutouts for Cherry MX are 14mm x 14mm. There are several modified cutout designs that allow for the tops of the switches to be removed without desoldering. Those can be found doing a little searching for "plate cutout".