Author Topic: Which Hako switches for a newbie? (Kira keyboard)  (Read 3105 times)

Offline BlueDragon

Which Hako switches for a newbie? (Kira keyboard)
« on: Sat, 02 June 2018, 12:30:42 »
Hello,

I'm very new to the mechanical keyboard thing. For a long time I had a Microsoft Digital Media Keyboard 1.0a, which is kind of mechanical, but not really high end. My girlfriend felt it was way too loud, especially when I constantly bottomed out on the keys.

So I got a Cherry Strait that is super flat, chiclet style and pretty quiet. However, when I type for longer stretches of time my fingers start to hurt, because the way to the bottom is very short and my fingertips land pretty hard.

Now I'm looking for my first quality mechanical keyboard and I'm trying to decide which switches are right for me. I went to an electronics market but they only had very few keyboards with Cherry switches. It was mainly Llgitecht and Roccat. I did find some Lioncast keyboards which do seem to use Cherry switches nowadays. These were the three types I was able to try:

BLUE: I really liked these! They felt snappy and clicky and really good. However, they would be way, way too loud.

BROWN: Originally I thought I would want these. But I ended up liking them least. The initial bump made put a bit more pressure on the key to get it pressed and after the bump the pressure seemed to become less and my finger seemed to fall through to the bottom. So what I hoped would be a tactile bump that would tell me when to stop to press the key made me press harder and bottom out. This kind of made them feel mushier and more uncomfortable than the blues. And the bottoming out made them still kind of loud. The blues sounded and felt more honest in a way.