Author Topic: Filco Detachable cable question  (Read 4272 times)

Offline _Mochi

Filco Detachable cable question
« on: Mon, 05 February 2018, 16:37:54 »
I just got my Filco Tkl keeb today and want to make its cable detachable would this work
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B072M4X8DG/ref=sspa_dk_detail_1?psc=1&pd_rd_i=B072M4X8DG&pd_rd_wg=5XArO&pd_rd_r=FDWADHNN61SRM08R7WD2&pd_rd_w=kbXAk&keywords=5pin%20header
  i cant really make my own cable cause i have no experience in soldering and don't have the tool

Offline atarione

Re: Filco Detachable cable question
« Reply #1 on: Mon, 05 February 2018, 16:51:45 »
I'm going to say "I think so... BUT".. if anyone more qualified shows up with a different opinion that is cool..

I  think you could use this but you are going to have to take the wires out of the header of the replacement cable and the orig cable and use the original header to connect the extension cable.. you can see in these pics that the header on that mother board extension cable differs from the header used on the filco..

188030-0

« Last Edit: Mon, 05 February 2018, 16:55:13 by atarione »

Offline _Mochi

« Reply #2 on: Mon, 05 February 2018, 17:24:31 »
ahhh i thought it was the same header

Offline Leslieann

• * Elevated Elder
« Reply #3 on: Mon, 05 February 2018, 19:45:15 »
Not the same header and the pins are not interchangeable (you need 2.54mm DIP, the ones shown are commonly known as a Dupont connectors).
Amazon doesn't carry anything like you are looking for, neither does Ebay.

There are people on here who make sleeved cables, and it wouldn't surprise me if some do detachable, though, buying a cheap soldering iron and some solder is cheaper than buying one of their cables (they look good though) and is a skill and tool you can use more than just once.
Novelkeys NK65AE w/62g Zilents/39g springs
More
62g Zilents/lubed/Novelkeys 39g springs, HK Gaming Thick PBT caps, Netdot Gen10 magnetic cable, pic