Author Topic: intro and my first prototype  (Read 3190 times)

Offline Siempie999

intro and my first prototype
« on: Sat, 20 August 2022, 05:13:13 »
hello I've been a member here for a while now and not posted anything yet
so here goes  i am Simon i live in the Netherlands by day I'm a CNC machinist and by night I'm a cyborg
i also have my own CNC milling machine wich i use to earn some side cash with to support my hobby's :)

besides that, i just finished milling my first prototype for a frame of my keyboard build :)

let me know what you guys think

290495-0290497-1290499-2

with kind greetings :D

Offline piit79

Re: intro and my first prototype
« Reply #1 on: Sat, 20 August 2022, 06:46:14 »
Very nice work! Especially because it's my favourite form factor - I'm a long-time Preonic user :) If you ever offer the final version for sale, you already have a customer :thumb: I like the simplicity of the Preonic, but the tray-mount design is pretty dated.

I'm by no means an expert, but I'd like to share some comments if you don't mind. The integrated plate might seem neat, but it's far from a community favourite construction. It's very stiff (especially your version which is very thick). It also deprives you of plate material choice. If I could make a recommendation - drop the integrated plate and add a few (4 should be enough) mounting points for a removable plate - that way people can use a plate in a material of their choice. For example, polycarbonate, FR4 and POM plates seem to be very popular these days (I've been cutting custom POM plates on my laser-cutter for a while now). If you like an aluminium plate you can still easily mill it separately.